A photo of the cover of the Wide HIve release, Heavy Feel - by Larry Coryell.

Heavy Feel

Larry Coryell returns for his third release on Wide Hive Records in awesome fashion with what is arguably one of his greatest albums. Aptly titled "Heavy Feel," the band's sound and daunting guitar play that Larry brings are undeniable.

Like many great jazz records, "Heavy Feel" was recorded in one day, and the tracks are imbued with the improvisational genius for which Mr. Coryell is known. Joining Larry are three outstanding musicians; two in the rhythm section (Bassist Matt Montgomery and Drummer Mike "Lumpy" Hughes), and longtime musical collaborator and renowned saxophonist, George Brooks.

Track Listing: 

1. Ghost Note
2. River Crossing
3. The Way It Was
4. Polished
5. Heavy Feel
6. 2011 East
7. Sharing Air
8. Jailbreak
9. Foot Path To Oasis

  • Larry Coryell in a white coat with his eyes closed, playing the guitar.

    Larry Coryell

    Larry Coryell deserves a special place in the history books for re-inventing jazz electric guitar playing in the 1960s. As a true eclectic, armed with a brilliant technique, he is comfortable in almost every style, covering almost every base from the most decibel-heavy, distortion-laden electric work to the most delicate, soothing, intricate lines on acoustic guitar.

Matt Montgomery Playing the standup base on the album "Heavy Feel."Mike "Lumpy" Hughes at Wide Hive Studios, playing drums on the Larry Coryell release, "Heavy Feel."